The Committee on Concepts and Methods (C&M) is a Research Committee of the International Political Science Association (IPSA). Founded by Giovanni Sartori and friends, it was the first research committee recognized by IPSA in 1970. C&M remains one of the most active IPSA Research Committees, and is currently sponsored by CIDE in Mexico City and the Department of Political Science at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. C&M promotes conceptual and methodological discussion in political science. It provides a forum of debate for adherents of methodological schools who otherwise tend to conduct their deliberations at separate tables.

  • News from Members reports on research projects, publications, conferences, and professional news from C&M members.
  • Membership in C&M is open to scholars worldwide and is free. It allows you to submit news, post course syllabi, vote in C&M elections, and share contact information and research interests with other members.
My C&M
Remember MeForgot Password?
News & Highlights

Call for papers for the IPSA Conference on Methods in Political Science: A Rainbow of Challenges to be held at the University of Antwerp, Belgium, September 17-18, 2015.


Call for Submissions for the 2015 Award for Concept Analysis in Political Science. All submissions must postmarked by 7 January 2015.


APSA 2014 Panel 1 and APSA 2014 Panel 2


IPSA 2014 Panels


Cas Mudde takes over as C&M Working Paper Series editor

Political Concepts

Guido Parietti, "On the Concept of Power", February 2015

Political Methodology

Alena Drieschova, "Peirce’s Semeiotics: A Methodology for Bridging the Material-Ideational Divide in IR Scholarship", November 2014
2/24/2015 - Schäfer Andreas
CfA: 5th Berlin Summer School in Social Sciences - Linking Theory and Empirical Research, Berlin 19 ... more
Nanos gigantium humeris insidentes
Maximilian Carl Emil "Max" Weber (1864-1920)Ludwig Josef Johann Wittgenstein (1889–1951)Giovanni Sartori (b. 1924)